France Pants

You know that sinking feeling you get when things are hunky-dory, and then it hits you, you forgot your pants? The second to last time I had that feeling, I was on round two of melting raclette cheese over pommes de terre and saucisson when a mental picture of the inside of my suitcase hit me.  Trying to reason with this image and make the pants appear wasn’t happening.  “Everything’s cool,” I told myself;  “I can make it three days in the same Lululemon airplane pants until I can get to a store.  I’m cool.”

The Le Mans market the next day was exquisite, set behind a medieval cathedral.

You see crêpes, flowers, fruits, fruits de mer, the works, but the first  thing I saw was a man selling jeans.  I chose a pair, crawled into the makeshift dressing room in the back of his blue rusty kidnapper van, and tried them. 10 Euros later, I wore them straight out of the van.

Yet, the very last time this sinking feeling hit me was on the way home from seeing my father slam and get slammed around by opponents a third his age in a high school alumni football game. Feeling the high of our alma mater’s win, I drove for home to get a few hours sleep before an early start to New Mexico. Suddenly, I could picture the trunk of my car and just knew there was no Vita Mix.  I had packed the pitchers, but remembered that in the heat of rounding up my things from the farm, settling the horses, picking black raspberries with my niece and eating with the girls before the big game, I’d forgotten to haul the base of my high-powered blender to the car.  “This is NOT cool!”  Visions of all my Vita Mix creations from grinding oat flour for cookies to Banilla Cream flooded my mind.

Then I calmly thought of my France pants and the story which became of that debacle. I vow to find a way to make Banilla Ice Cream with the 350 watt blender in our furnished apartment. For now, here’s the Vita Mix version of Banilla Ice Cream.  It’s the bomb.

Banilla Ice Cream

  • 2.5 frozen bananas, quartered
  • scant 1 T sugar
  • 1 T vanilla coconut milk (or your choice of vanilla milk)
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1 T coconut oil / udo oil (optional)
  • ¼ t salt (optional)

Blend all ingredients in a hefty blender. Serve immediately.  Serves 2

2 thoughts on “France Pants

Leave a Reply

