Hotcake Rerun

Tent camping I have this ritual: I wake up around 1:00 or 2:00 and just feel like a sitting duck. I know a bear would rather chew on the toothpaste in the car than my leg. Still my fears are reinforced when, for example, in the middle of the night this past weekend I woke to: STOMP. STOMP. CRACK. SNORT. STOMP. within 10 feet of us.  Just as I slapped my husband in the shoulder…err face (whoops), we hear the deep, mature, but very alarmed CHIRP, of an elk who stumbled upon our secluded camp.

ImageWhew! Close one. Took me forever, but I finally fell back asleep and eventually awoke close to sunrise to what I could have sworn was a black bear snooping and pooping around camp. As it turns out, that humming-bird checking out our tent must have been wearing some sort of bear voice changer. He sounded mean and hungry. Well, in spite of my demise by wildlife paranoia, I love the animals and the camping.A beautiful first light at camp is made even more spectacular by a morning run,

…a freshly ground cup of joe,

Image

…and some G-Free vegan hotcakes.

Image

Gluten Free Camp Hotcakes (serves 3)

In a camp container (or even a hefty gallon Ziploc) stir together:

  • 2 c rice flour
  • 4 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 ½ T sugar
  • 1 ½ T ground flaxseed

In your pack, include:

  • 1 15oz can of coconut milk
  • 2 Bananas and 1 cup of blueberries (if fruit is out of the question, these are still tasty with just the peanut butter topping or some glorious real maple syrup)

To prep your hotcakes at camp, add the can of coconut milk and 3/4 cup of water. Allow the batter to rest for about 10 minutes or longer; since you didn’t soak the flaxseed meal before blending, it needs a little more time. Just before cooking, add some chopped bananas or blueberries. I divided the batter in half for some banana and some blueberry. OR if you’ve used a Ziploc then just snip a corner to squeeze out the batter and add your fruit quickly once on the griddle. Heat griddle to medium or medium-low and cook hotcakes until golden.

See Hotcake Revival for peanut butter topping, it packs nicely.

ImageThese hotcakes might provoke a stampede. Kidding. You’re safe, but it might be a good idea to sleep with one eye open. Do you think I need to see somebody about this before my next camping trip?

Happy Trails!

**Pics: I took at the Valle Vidal Wildlife Management Unit, which is surrounded by Ted Turner’s Vermejo Park Ranch west of Raton and east of Taos, NM. The place was once under Penzoil drilling, but fortunately they didn’t find much of what they were after and donated the space back for public use. Go there if you ever get the chance, but in case you don’t here are some more sites from this American treasure:

Leave a Reply

