Peanut Butter Curried Roasted Veggies…with a workout

Fantastic weekend, anyone? I hope so. We took in the Hy-Vee Triathlon for the first time and are glad we did. Just bummed I didn’t have along my camera to capture all the fast bikes and racers in their sassy pants and speed suits.  It convinced me evermore that triathlons are out for this chick because I just don’t want anything to do with the swim. More power to you Tri people. You amaze me!

Monday we snuck in some farm time, which allowed me to get my trimming done and go for a nice easy ride. I do Natural Balance trimming on my three guys. It needs to be done about every four weeks. My back has been put out a few times as a result, which you can imagine the possiblity from the above picture taken last spring. Thus I try to keep them onto a staggered schedule so as to only work beneath four big hooves instead of eight or twelve in a weekend. That doesn’t always happen. This weekend I needed to trim Rio and Maggio. As usual, not satisfied with the previous week’s work, I ended up rasping a little on Chief, too. Thirteen weeks pregnant, I’m not sure how many more months until I need an apprentice trimmer to help. For now I’m thankful to have reached Tuesday with no backache.

So tonight it’s: peanut butter curried roasted vegetables. I pulled out any random root or otherwise cruciferous vegetable that I thought would roast well together.  Then I cut them to a similar size, slathered a bit of curried peanut sauce on them, and roasted the whole lot while I did my strength exercises. Pick and choose your veggies as you please because there are others that would work or ones to forget if you don’t like or don’t have on hand.  Here’s what I used:

  • 1 sweet potato – pealed
  • 1 cup each: chopped cauliflower, red cabbage & broccoli (in the pic, the broc and caulif. still need chopping)
  • 2 cups Brussels sprouts
  • 2 small onions (one med or large would be great too)

Cut all to approximately the same size, think bite-sized. Heat oven to 350° Then prepare the sauce:

  •  ¼ cup peanut butter (I used J’s homemade nut butter, not sure actually what all nuts he put in there but it was good)
  • 2 T olive oil
  • ¼-½  t curry powder (up to your taste buds to decide)
  • 2 T minced garlic
  • cracked pepper and salt to taste

Heat together for just a few seconds to thin out the PB. Mix together and then drizzle over the vegetables.

Cook at 350° for about 45 minutes, stirring once to coat evenly after about 20 minutes. After 45 min. crank up heat to 415° and cook for about 10minutes.

Since this takes upwards of an hour to cook, why not get down to some dirty squats? I was nervous about adding time to my plié squat, so I threw it in towards the beginning of my strength set. I hoped for eight minutes, but I think that by reading the pain chapter in Birthing from Within while completing the isometric hold I was able to extend it to ten. Followed that with:

Tabata squats: straight squats; perform as many as you can in 20 seconds, rest 10 seconds. Repeat eight times for a total of four minutes. You “score” yourself by how many squats were the fewest you could do in 20 seconds. I shot for 20 and was able to maintain that, however sloppily they probably became toward the last minute.

3-minute elbow plank: Hold an elbow plank for one minute; then spend 15 seconds with each limb lifted one at a time; then 15 seconds with opposite arm and leg lifted, switch after 15 seconds to other opposites; finish with 30 seconds back in a solid elbow plank. Fun fun!

V-sits: Hold legs and torso in V. First set, keep the legs still and do running motion with little bent arms (could only do barely 40 seconds before my quads actually said “no more” to doing their hip flexor work). Second set, do same V but quickly switch legs right over left and vice versa criss-crossing them (also barely 40 sec. for me on this one).

About this time was when the vegetables needed stirring. After that I moved into a few other random sets: triceps, hips, and calves. I will save explaining how I’ve learned to best torture these parts for another day because I’m sleepy. Plus, I think that performing all of the above is enough to get you a pretty grizzled face for now.

So eat your vegetables (with a side of pinto bean and fresh tomato salad, thanks Dad) and…

Happy chiseling with that grizzled face on!

Leave a Reply

