Orange

I’m normally not an orange person. Not really the James Bond type either, but I had a student this week say she dreamt I was the female version of James Bond. Sweeet.  Not sure why her subconscious chose me for that roll, especially since I know the rest of her rockstar teachers. I took it as a compliment.

At any rate, I think I’m liking the orange in this pregnancy pic.

Baby

So I have some Cuties that are getting not so cute and need a recipe.

Clementines

Undoubtedly, I love those little orange things and anything citrus, really. I try to take a tablespoon of a couple different types of algae (chlorella and spirulina) each day, usually in a green smoothie. The citrus of a Clementine or something otherwise citrus thrown in always makes the overpowering algae more palatable. I once mixed my algae quota into a bowl of oatmeal with some nuts and honey. Sort of a gelatinous pond scum taste lingered with me all day.

The  salad for these Cuties is one in which the citrus plays an equally integral role as in my green smoothies. The powerfully tart cranberries are sweetened with apples, dates and oranges. Orange Cranberry Salad. What a perfect holiday salad!

Ingredients:Apples

  • 4 apples (something sweet will go better than tart)
  • 4 oranges (or 8-10 Clementines)
  • 1 bag cranberries (rinsed)
  • 1 8oz bag of pitted and chopped dates
  • ½ t cinnamon
  • zest if 1 orange or 2 Clementines
  • ¼ c dried mint (I have a big bag I grew and dried; I grab a big handful, crunch it up and throw it in.

Mint

Zest your orange or Clementines. Peel all the oranges and process them to a pulp in the food processor*. Dump that in a large container or serving bowl with the zest. Core and slice the apples (1/4 inch thick). Pulse in the food processor a few times, then stop and stir down the big apple slices. Pulsing seems to be better, since just turning on the food processor and letting it run will turn your apples into almost applesauce. You’ll probably need to do a couple batches of apples or two at a time. Add the chopped apples to your oranges and stir. Stir in chopped dates, mint and cinnamon. Finally, pulse to chop the cranberries and add them with the rest and stir. Chill for a few hours at least or overnight. It can be eaten right away, but the flavors are much better melded when left to chill. Aren’t we all better off when left to chill for a while?

*Without a food processor, it would be best to hand chop the apples and cranberries. The oranges pretty well need to be pulverized; so a blender could do the trick or just chop the daylights out of them being sure to contain and keep all the juice.

Orange Cranberry Salad

Try it out this holiday season. Bon appétit !

Leave a Reply

