Cocoa Rice Muffins

This weekend we amused ourselves watching a friendly flock of grackles attack some stale Wonder bread that our toddler neighbor from upstairs threw over their balcony. grackleThey felt bad, but I had to reassure them they’re the best upstairs neighbors we’ve ever had. Beats the guys who once spewed over the balcony only to puke all down our window… I know, lovely. We’ll take attracting grackles any day. A good use for Wonder Bread too, don’t cha think?

Besides observing grackles, Mr. Monster Napper did some dozing on the patio.patio nap-1He typically takes one monster nap (2-3+ hrs) and several cat naps (30min-1hr) on either side of that. Most importantly, he’s been putting in six hour stretches at night. I mean, six hours of continuous sleep – coupled with a solo trip to the knitting shop, a long shower, shaved legs, and a green smoothie for lunch all in one day – I felt like a new woman!

Preparing for this baby, I read Bringing up Bébé. I loved the ideas, but since I’m not in fact French, I wasn’t really sure how to actually bring up my bébé with so many cultural differences. I think I’ve found a close “American” version of the book. We’ve been loosely following the ideas in the book Babywise, by Gary Ezzo. babywiseThe gist is an: eat – wake/play – sleep routine throughout the day and at night you just omit the waketime of course.  This helps babies organize their sleep, get the bulk of their calories during the day, and eventually learn to self-soothe. It seems controversial to some because at first glance it’s just another cry-it-out method; however, I believe there’s more to it than that. I don’t let our baby cry it out. I know that when he cries, he’s communicating something. There are times I might let him cry for a minute or two so that I can get a better idea of what his deal is. I’m always listening and now getting pretty good at interpreting his language. So far it’s working for us. I’m sure it doesn’t work for everyone, but it might be worth a shot? Also the eat-wake-sleep cycle takes quite a bit of diligence and patience. We don’t get it right every time, but obviously something’s working because he’s not waking up every couple of hours each night to eat or “talk.” Amen to that!

Apart from the book, I’ve probably gotten even more out of this babywise mama’s blog: Making Home. In a series of posts, she really spells out the first eight weeks of her fifth baby’s life and gives a better picture of how Babywise can work. Do check out her blog if you’re expecting or in midst of your “fourth” trimester with a newborn and curious about a method to the madness/sweetness.

Since I’m feeling so good and rested, I worked up a fun muffin recipe for you to try. Gluten free, chocolatey rice muffins! Awesome!

Cocoa Rice Muffins…rice muffin1-1

Ingredients:

  •  ¾ c milk
  • ½ c applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 ½ c cooked rice
  • 2 c g-free flour (I used 1 ½ c buckwheat and ½ tapioca)
  • ¼ c cocoa powder
  • ½ t salt
  • 1 ½ t baking powder
  • 1 c chocolate chips
  • 2 c walnuts chopped (I toasted mine by accident (they were drying in the oven after a soak, and then I left them there during preheating – Whoops.))

Preheat oven to 350° and prepare a one-dozen muffin tin with papers or oil.

In a large bowl, mix first five ingredients. Add the dry ingredients. Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts. Spoon batter into the muffin tin. It’s okay to fill them full, these guys won’t spill over. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

rice muffin-1

Happy gluten free eating!

 

One thought on “Cocoa Rice Muffins

  1. Susie, I hear you on the amazingness of shaved legs post baby! I’m happy for you 🙂 I think you are doing just fine as a new momma–keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

