Strawberry Cranberry Chia Jam

I was so happy to have Poppy stop by the blog because that led me to the idea for this jam. Thanks!

For some time now, I’ve wanted to create a less sugary concoction out of a partial left-over bag of frozen cranberries. This jam is it!

csc jam2-1It’s full of superfoods: chia, cranberries, and strawberries, all antioxidant rich and crazy with anti-inflammatory properties.  What’s more, the recipe is super-duper easy if you have a food processor and about 45 minutes, start to finish.

Ingredients:

  • 2 ½ c strawberries
  • 1 ½ c cranberries
  • ¾ c chia seed
  • ½ c juice
  • ¼ c honey

Wash berries. Over  medium heat, cook cranberries in your favorite red juice (I used pomegranate cranberry) until all have “popped.”

csc jam1-1

Puree strawberries in a food processor. Add strawberries and honey to the cranberry mixture. You may want to play with the amount of honey and add more to satisfy your sweet tooth. Cook for a couple of minutes and then add the chia seeds while stirring.csc jam4-1

Turn off heat. Pour into jars and allow to cool.

csc jam-1Kickin’ it with a rice cake! Yes, the rice kick continues…

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Cranberry Chia Jam

  1. Could this be considered a “Freezer” jam or would you use a hot bath? I really like the jam and made a double batch, then my wife asked if it is freezer jam. I said I would have to look it up but I didn’t see any mention of how to store the jam after it was made? Love the addition of cranberries and chia seeds!

    • Yes, good question. Honestly, I have only made and used it fresh. So I would consider it a freezer jam because freezer jams just seem more fresh to me. But now that I think about it really, hot water bath could work. I would process it like a low-sugar strawberry jam. Glad you like it.

  2. Pingback: Soaked whole wheat and farro lemon chia poppy seed waffles | Flexitarian Filly

Leave a Reply

