Chocolate Cherry Scones

Morning run in the rain. Ahh, refreshing. And finishing our run drenched was a first for us, at least a first for my jog stroller. Baby was snug as a bug in a rug. Here you can sort of make out the water droplets on the carseat cover:
20130726-193944.jpg

I highly recommend the B.O.B Ironman jog stroller for any new runner parents. (The carseat attaches to the stroller for use with an infant.) Actually, I once knew a guy who ran self-contained across the state of Iowa pushing one of these sans baby. So a superb pram for distance running with any sort of cargo.

So many firsts recently. First run in the rain. First trip to the pool.
20130726-194905.jpg

We loved it!
20130726-195124.jpg

First time on a horse. No pictures because all hands were on deck to ensure a good seat. He was all smiles, and he doesn’t usually smile and laugh at just anything. He laughs at Mommy, at Daddy, at Mommy’s singing, but this he knew was definitely cool.

A first for me, today I managed to get myself entered into my first post-pregnancy half-marathon. The thought of racing gives me the willies, but I need something to aim at and not just shoot from the hip. So early September it is. Sheesh… Let’s think about something else…

Something that doesn’t give me jitters are scones. It might be my Welsh and English heritage but I love scones. Did you know that originally scones were most likely made with oats and flavored with dried currants? Currants do nothing for me, but this really warms my heart since I love oats. And though I’ve been known to throw down the heavy whipping cream in certain recipes, the heavy cream, butter, and all-purpose flour, which are commonplace modern scone ingredients, pretty much turn me off. Rather, I veganize them with coconut oil and coconut milk, and I use whole wheat flour.
20130725-205403.jpg

LouAna! Love the name! Not my first choice for coconut oil – order bulk oil online – but you can probably find this at most larger supermarkets if you just want to give coconut oil a try.

With all the summer fruit in season, what about fresh fruit scones? Another first for me as I tend to go with dried fruit. The adaptation I came up with I really like. I kept the currants to keep something sacred. We’ll try the beloved oat next time. Here’s what you need:

Ingredients:

3 1/2 c whole wheat flour
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/3 c brown sugar
2/3 c coconut oil
1 c cherries, pitted and halved
1 c chocolate chips
1/3 c dried currants
1 t vanilla
1 c coconut milk

Preheat oven to 400deg
Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. Cut in oil with a fork until you have a crumbly mixture. If your coconut oil is too liquidy because of the summer heat or something, firm it up first by putting it in the fridge. Once oil is cut in, refrigerate your crumbles for about 5 minutes. Stir in chips, cherries and currants. Again with a fork, fold in milk and vanilla just until blended. Do not over stir.

On a greased baking sheet form two round scone disks. Cut them each into at least six wedges.

20130725-204827.jpg
Slide the wedges apart a little so they all have room to bake evenly.
Bake 13-15 minutes.
Enjoy with a cup of hot tea.

20130726-211143.jpg
He really laughs when I sing “Tea for Two. Me for you and…” It really is pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

