Flexitarian Quiche

Let’s throw around some honest truths… First, running is progressing, albeit my condition reminds me of this point in time where I was short on iron, big time.

1st 5k-1-2

Ran my first 5k since the new baby, and I have a 10k this weekend. After a 400meter session this morning on the track, I’m feeling like things are on the up and up. We’ll see.

Next, this boy. quiche1-1-4Oh, that smirk!

Enough said.

Finally, quiche.  It’s pretty much one main reason I’m flexitarian and not wholly vegan. Truth be told, I just need it in my life. quiche1-1-3

Back in 2001, I learned a traditional French quiche concoction from my French neighbor while living in Lyon, France for a summer, and ever since I have used those basic ingredients for my quiches: 3-4 eggs, whole milk, crème fraiche (sour cream, a similar substitute), salt and whatever guts so desired. Recently I’ve experimented with less dairy and love what has come out of the oven.

This quiche recipe is super simple:

  • 4 large eggs
  • 12 oz almond milk, unsweetened (or unsweetened coconut milk)
  • 1/2 t salt

Prepare your choice of single pie crust (I used this crust recipe). In a bowl whisk together eggs, milk and salt.  I always add herbs de Province or basil, parsley and oregano (about 1 tsp each)

Now for filling your quiche, I’ll give you some options. First, think pizza. I used to tell my middle school students that quiche tastes sort of like pizza. Calling it an egg pie was pretty taboo, as it should be. That sounds nasty. So whatever you love on pizza, it probably would work for quiche, within reason, I suppose.

For this simple quiche, I caramelized one Vidalia onion, following this recipe.quiche-1

Tossed on some spinach (about 2 cups fresh) to steam for a few minutes. quiche1-1

Place your vegetables or whatever filling in your prepared, unbaked pie crust. Pour the egg mixture over your vegetables. Add a few slivers of cheese. I added about 2 ounces of Munster on top. quiche1-1-2

Bake for about 50-60 minutes at 350.

The center should not jiggle when done. If it does, give it another 5-10 minutes.

Enjoy your flexitarian freedom with a room temp quiche. Yep, quiche is best cooled to room temperature.quiche1-1-7

Bon Appetit !

Leave a Reply

