Week 10 – Carrot Salad

As I mentioned last week, I am aiming at a December 2013 marathon. I’m going to try and post a recipe and a marathon training summary each week. My hope is that I’ll paint you a better picture of my training and an idea of how to, or not to, train for a marathon. Plus, you’re keeping me accountable. Thank you.

Let’s start with carrots. This carrot salad is something we enjoy on a regular basis. It’s just fantastic, very French, simple and tasty. I used to find this packed in my lunch when I spent a summer in Lyon, France living with a French family. Again, it’s very simple. I think it beats steamed carrots and probably even carrots and hummus. I know, it’s that good!apple cider-1-3

Shredded Carrot Salad:

  • 4-5 cups of shredded carrots (about 4-5 medium carrots)
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 3 T lemon juice or the juice of one large lemon
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1 T parsley (or a bit more if it’s fresh)
  • 2 t Dijon mustard
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Shred carrots in food processor. You could also use julienne cut carrots, pre-cut from the store, if you prefer. I do think the finer the shred the better.

In a bowl whisk all the other ingredients. Add carrots. Toss. Serve.

So wrapping up week 10 of training for a December marathon and there’s lots going on. The day after my long run/race last Saturday, I participated in processing nearly 30 gallons of apple cider.

apple cider-1-4

apple cider-1-6

Wouldn’t have missed it; however, that was a rest day and I ended up spending a lot of the day up on my feet, standing, walking, picking pears 20ft in up a tree lifted in a tractor loader, or generally just milling around. Rest days are something a marathon runner needs to take somewhat seriously. I’m not saying bed-rest, but do take into consideration how you treat your legs on your off day/days. I’m working on taking care of myself on those days.

So I did notice some excessive soreness in my feet and knees on Monday, the day following the cider extravaganza/rest day. It is normal for soreness to set in about 48 hours after strenuous exercise, but I did a little modification to my training as a precaution: a couple less miles here or there and exchanged roads/sidewalks for the track or more gravel/grass. So far, the week has looked like this:

Marathon Training Week 10:

  • Monday: 8 easy (E)
  • Tuesday: 11 total = (3 E + 3mi @ Threshold/tempo pace (T) + 3 min rest, 2mi T + 2 min rest, + 1mi T + 2 E) Right now my threshold or tempo pace is 6:38 based off of my last 10k time. Those first 3 mi T averaged 6:40 and then the 2mi and 1mi were 6:38 and 6:37 respectively. Good girl. I did this workout on the track because of my sore feet. Really, I can tell it’s sore muscles in my feet from all of the miles over the weekend. The springy track was very welcoming to my feet and legs. Now, two days later, I feel very good.
  • Wednesday: 6 E
  • Thursday: 12 medium-long run. I ran half of this on gravel and grass trails. Very important to get off the concrete as possible.
  • Friday: (projected) 5-6 miles
  • Saturday: (projected) 18 miles (4 E + 6 @ marathon pace (M) + 1 E + 4 M + 3 E) I will let you know next week how the projected runs go.
  • Sunday: Rest
  • Total: about 60 miles

Here’s a really nice resource for calculating your training paces. I know lots of people who use this calculator. It seems to work.

So happy trails and remember to take a load off on your off day!

apple cider-1

Leave a Reply

