Week 9 – Pizza Crust

“Roll with the punches.” This is week 9’s mantra.

I’m feeling the ebb and flow of training. Had a decent start to the week with a tough run on Tuesday. (Please, read back a couple of posts for training abbreviations).

Marathon Training Week 9:

  • Monday: 9 E
  • Tuesday: 15 (8.5 E + 6 T(6:40) + .5E) – Yes, that was hard: pretty quick tempo and because of the cumulative effects of the 18miles last Saturday, it felt even more nasty 😉 . I came away from the run feeling energized and really good.
  • Wednesday: 8 E
  • Thursday: I hit the hay Wednesday night with a more prominent pain in my foot. This was the sort of pain that I needed to not just ignore. I did wake up Thursday morning feeling almost no pain, but the pain was bad enough last night that I decided to play it safe today. Really, you don’t lose much ground in taking one or even up to five days off when trying to keep yourself healthy. So Thursday’s medium-long run (12miles) was nixed. I added in some aqua jogging and a series of strength exercises, focusing more on upper body. That hurt more than 12 miles anyway!
  • Friday-Sunday: On my training plan, this weekend was vaguely penciled in because we’ve been planning to be out of town visiting friends. Perfect timing to get out and do some funzy trail running with friends.

So I hope to come home from a weekend away ready for week 8 and feeling all healed up.

Why foot pain? Well, I have slowly ramped up mileage. However, I’ve done both that and increased intensity which make a person more injury prone. Plus, the third punch is that I ran probably too many miles in these shoes…

week 9-1-2

before and during and this last race…

week 9-1

Not to mention, yikes, that foot strike. I can almost hear the bones in my foot slamming against the pavement. Anyway, these are racing flats in which I have done high mileage, but I wasn’t (most likely) prepared for 10 miles in them at this point in time. So I’m back to some basic Brooks Pure Flow trainers which are light enough but supportive as well.

Now on a brighter note, I mentioned pizza last week. Here’s a fun gluten free pizza crust I really love.

Crust:

In a bowl mix together:

  • 2/3 c flaxseed meal
  • 3/4 c water
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar

Allow that mixture to soak for at least 15 minutes, if not more. In a separate bowl, cut together these ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 c oat flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 c coconut oil
  • 1/4 c olive oil

week 9-1-3

After the flaxseed mixture has soaked, stir it into the oat mixture. Between two sheets of plastic wrap, roll out to desired thickness. Bake about 10 minutes at 350. Then add toppings. Finish baking to heat toppings and melt cheese.

One of my favorite toppings is kale. I love to take a couple of big kale leaves, chopped, pour on a little Balsamic and olive oil, salt & pepper. Then with fingers, massage this into the leaves. Pile on top of your pizza just before the cheese.

week 9-1-4

The kale cooks up really nicely and pairs perfectly with sundried tomatoes, Kalamata olives, anchovies and blue cheese.

pizza-1

Give that a whirl!

One thought on “Week 9 – Pizza Crust

  1. You’re impressive girl. I too hope you come back from the weekend feeling nice and relaxed and strong.

    Jen Haidar

    Edmunds Elementary

    K-1 Intensive English Language Center

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

