Week 8 – Brownie a la mode

Ending last week with what felt like a bum foot was not ideal, but, as expected, a little time away was just the medicine these bones needed.

week 9.1-1A weekend of friends, family, rest, restorative sleep, and saunaing (in a handmade-homemade northern Minnesota sauna) and I’m as good as new. We did a good deal of hiking, too, which was wonderful and enjoyed by all.

week 9.1-1-2

I loved getting to share our friends with our baby and vice versa. Look at him looking at her… Yes, Baby, you can learn a lot from that gal, take notes.week 9.1-1-13

Coming back down to Earth { isn’t that how it feels when you’ve road-tripped a weekend away? }, I felt fairly ready for the daily grind. Ready physically for more miles and some hard long runs, to include a half marathon this coming weekend. Yet, mentally, I must admit that I have frequent doubts. It’s hard – that must be the easiest way to explain the doubt? Can’t think of any other explanation. But then I strap on my shoes, head out the door, and it all makes sense. I can; so I should. I mean, the way I see it, everything has a deeper / spiritual side to it. Even if ever so hard for me to remember, I ultimately run for the glory of God. This I need to remind myself of often. So we press on, get officially signed up for things (St. Jude’s Memphis Marathon, Dec. 7), and set goals like Grandma’s Marathon next June (We made it to the actual Grandma’s restaurant in Duluth – quite fun.)…week 9.1-1-9

…but take it one day at a time.

Sounds like a plan, or at least this jokester thinks so.

week 9.1-1-8

Marathon Training Week 8:

  • Monday: 4E – rarely do I have a run shorter than 6 miles, but this was sort of a test run and because I knew Tuesday would make up for anything lost.
  • Tuesday:16.5 (4E + 11.5 M (6:59/mi) + 1 E) This run I did on a treadmill which added an element of inhumane mental training. There’s nothing more annoying than staring at six muted box televisions. Especially when the only one with closed-captioning is on the history of mouse traps. Merci Beaucoup, History Channel.
  • Wednesday: 6E
  • Thursday: 9.5E
  • Friday: (projected) 6 – 7 E
  • Saturday: (projected) 7 E
  • Sunday: (projected) Half Marathon + 3 (2 warm up, 1 cool down) for a total of 16 miles. (I’m hoping for this to be both a good training run as well as a good half marathon time for me. Maybe a new personal record, which would need to be paced similarly to my most recent 10k, but, hey, anything’s possible. We shall see.)
  • Weekly total = about 65 miles

Now for the good stuff: I made a batch of these brownies to take along with us last weekend. They were sort of a hit, so I figured it only fitting that I pass along the recipe. They are my new favorite bean brownie a la mode.

week 9.1-1-11

Raspberry Brownies with Macaroon Granola Crumble:

Preheat oven to 350. In a blender, blend together until smooth:

  • 2 – 15 oz cans of beans drained and rinsed (I used one black and one kidney)
  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs (for vegan use a vegan egg substitute, I’m sure it will work fine)
  • 3/4 c pitted & chopped dates

Transfer that goo into a mixing bowl. Add and mix well the following ingredients to the bean mixture:

  • 3/4 c ground flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 c peanut butter
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c cocoa powder
  • 1/4 c stevia
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 T vanilla

Bake brownies for about 20min. (While preparing the fruit and topping).

In a medium sauce pan combine:

  • 1 – 12oz bag frozen unsweetened raspberries
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/4 c pineapple juice concentrate yes, straight from the freezer, still frozen & concentrated (or any juice concentrate you see fit)
  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 2 T minute tapioca
  • 1 T corn starch

Stir frequently while heating this over medium to medium-high heat. It’s ready when mixture begins to gel and looks sort of shiny.

In one final small bowl, whip: 1 egg white (use a fork and whip just until a little frothy). To the whipped egg white, add:

  • 3/4 c unsweetened coconut (or if you use sweetened, just reduce the sugar)
  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 1/2 c oats
  • dash of salt

Remove partially baked brownies from the oven, spread on the raspberry layer and then sprinkle on the macaroon crumble topping. It should look something like this:

week 9.1-1-10

Bake for another 15 minutes or until the crumble topping is golden.

And, that’s it. I know. I know. That was a long recipe. Trust me, it’ll be worth it.

week 9.1-1-12…Mmmmm…

Leave a Reply

