Week 4 – Kale Pie

Kale pie? Huh?!week 4-1-2Okay, really, it’s a quiche. Same diff.

If you have a hard time choking down a large quantity of greens, here’s an alternative to kale salads, kale chips, kale smoothies and the like.

Kale Pie:

  • 1 single 9-10 inch pie crust
  • 3-4 large kale leaves, stem removed and chopped
  • 1 medium onion, sliced into wedges
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c milk (coconut is delish)
  • 1 t salt (and pepper to taste)
  • 1 T parsley, dried (or a couple Tbs. of fresh parsley)
  • 2 oz. Brie, sliced about 1/4inch thick

Preheat oven to 350. In a bowl whip eggs with a fork, add milk, salt and herbs. Fold in kale and garlic. In the bottom of the prepared crust, layer on your sliced onion. Pour on the egg/kale mixture. Top with Brie slices. As it bakes the Brie will ooze down into the pie, leaving the cool-looking crust which is completely edible. Have fun with that little trick.

week 4-1Bake for about 45 minutes or until the little kale edges popping out start to brown. Allow to sit for about one hour before cutting it and digging in.

Now for the week in running.

Marathon Training Week 4:

  • Monday: 10E
  • Tuesday: 7E
  • Wednesday: 11E (Had planned a harder run but was still feeling sore from Sunday’s tough long run; Wed – Thurs were switched.)
  • Thursday: 9 (2E, 3 x 1 mi @ 6:20 + 1 min rest between, 3 x 1,000 meters @ 6:00 + 2 min rest between, 1.5E) Switching Wed – Thursday was the right idea, and even with that, this run was still quite hard.
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: 8E
  • Sunday: 22 (6E, 2 x (6 M/6:44 + 1 T/6:19) 2E
  • Total: 67 miles

This Sunday long run was probably actually harder than last week’s 22 miler. The neat thing is that because I made it through last week, this run didn’t scare me as much. Which reminds me… for the last several weeks I’ve been processing through what is it about the mental side of running that helps or hinders my running. During this run I recorded a lot of my thoughts, talking out loud to my iPad’s recording app. Now to transcribe and edit. Stay tuned for a post on that coming soon!

And, no, I did not run 22 miles with iPad in hand. That would be cumbersome. I cannot even stand those handheld water bottle-thingys. This morning I set out, though I knew rain was forecasted. The first six easy miles I planned to do in short tangents, staying within a three quarter mile radius around our house; this way I could high-tail it back in the case of lightning. I was drenched at about two miles into the 22. My feet were going to be very sore from being pruney for the next 20 miles, but I planned to carry on anyhow. At about five miles, I almost ventured out of my small radius when the clouds, which I thought were moving away, made a big change in direction. Thinking it wise to make another tangent I about-faced. Right then faint Latin music started coming from what sounded like a car. Strange, but festive at 6:30am? … Not really strange at all because it was actually coming from my butt pocket. My husband was calling to warn me there was, “some weather coming.” Told him I’d be home shortly. So I’m running, and he’s watching the rain from the garage. I get less than a quarter mile from the house and the wind and rain really came on. Thankfully my knight in a shiny red Subaru came barreling down the street to get me. Good thing, too, because next came the hail.

So I ran a wet 5.3E outside, and (did I tell you we just got a treadmill!!!?) the rest of my run, all 16.7 miles, I ran on our treadmill. It is really wonderful to have a treadmill; we love it. Perfect for parents who both run. Sometimes (like 100 deg days or the ominous -20 deg days soon to hit here) it’s just not safe to take a baby in a jog stroller. With our treadmill we can run at the same time, one of us in and one out and still keep baby comfortable and usually asleep, as we typically run while he’s napping or early in the morning. Anyway, had I continued my run outside, I don’t know if I would have worked so hard. Between the wind, rain, pruney feet, lightning, and hail, my pace probably would have suffered outside. Instead, I ran a tough middle 14 miles. I punched up my pace to 8.9 for 6mi then 9.5 for one mile and repeated that for those 14 miles. I was locked into it for the whole time.  No turning back. Now I am very, very glad to have that run in the books. It felt hard but doable. I’m excited to see what will happen in a few weeks.

Time to stay healthy – Echinacea, Echinacea, Echinacea, plus some zinc – (in my homeopathic opinion, I do believe those supplements have helped me stave off at least two sore throats in recent weeks) and take things a little easier for the next few weeks. Less miles, but incorporate the same intensity; this will be the plan.

Photo Nov 13, 12 37 39 PMBig Time here loves his new booster seat. It even got him to pull up to standing for the first time. This is his now-how-do-I-get-down face. His plan is to figure out how to move beyond the crawl. We’ll hope that takes quite a while.

4 thoughts on “Week 4 – Kale Pie

Leave a Reply

