Plans Change

The final week until the marathon started out like this:

  • Monday: 6 miles  with 4 X 1000 at T in the middle
  • Tuesday: 30 min easy
  • Wednesday: 20 min easy
  • Thursday: Rest

By Thursday things changed.

Drastically.

When the weatherman used the word “lethal” there was no question. I was done for.

Nope, nothing like an ice storm to tear all plans to pieces.

And no matter how many 20+ milers [a 17, two 18, a 20, a 21 and two 22-mile runs in the last two months to be exact!!] and grueling workouts logged, it was not worth life and limb to try to get to and do this marathon. For the sake of those still planning to run, I had hoped the best. But, ultimately, the race was cancelled.

Yes, I’m disappointed. Do I feel like I wasted all those miles? A teeny tiny bit, yes. Okay, maybe more than a teeny tiny bit. But as one of my Pilates clients assured me, “You’ll just be that much stronger for the next thing.” I think she’s probably right.

So on to the next thing… Just not yet quite sure what that is?… As in, I’m not sure if I’ll try to find a different marathon in December or January. Probably not.

But actually, a friend and I already squeezed in a ridiculously cold trail race yesterday morning.

sycamore8-1-2

It was a 2-degrees and sunny eight miles through the woods around the big city.

sycamore 8 run

With post-race chicken noodle soup worthy of the wait in line.

sycamore8-1

And then the next, next for sure thing is the Psyco Wyco 50k in early February.

Time to shift gears into ultra-marathon mode. I think I need that.

I know, I’m weird.

Oh, favorite meal of the week was my sweet potato lasagna. This time I did use regular lasagna noodles instead of tortillas. Tastes good both ways. Give her a try!

4 thoughts on “Plans Change

Leave a Reply

