Outrageously Easy Onion Soup

I am amazed at the extreme contrast of comfort and discomfort a person can feel over the course of several days. Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday I did a green smoothie feast, which was uncomfortable but not sickening. The subsequent Friday-Saturday I was so sick in the tummy I could barely stand, let alone stand the sight, smell or thought of food. I had wanted to share this easy recipe sooner, but truly I couldn’t look at this picture.

soup a l'oignon 12

Bon appétit, non ?

Hey, I called it easy, not beautiful.

Before I share the quick, easy recipe here are three ways to make French onion soup more appetizing.

  1. Smother in cheese. Cheese makes most things better, if you’re into that sort of thing. Pretty sure that’s why the French typically make this soup topped with shredded cheese. They know what’s up.
  2. In place of red use white wine OR flat champagne – who would use good champagne!? Drink that and substitute Vermouth. The white of any of the above will lessen the soup’s likeness to earthworms.
  3. Don’t even think about trying to eat this while sick or nauseous. I mean, in my attempt to get down some calories, I couldn’t even eat a Snickers bar. I for sure wasn’t going to come near this. Though, I am confident it wasn’t the soup that caused my malady. You’ll see, there’s nothing but goodness in this soup. I know it also wasn’t my green-smoothie craziness because my husband got ‘it’ too but even worse. I’ll stop there. But, anyway, if the state of nausea is in question, don’t go near it.

When I’m well and healthy, onion soup is one of my favorites. And when I dined on this the first time (at the end of my three days of green smoothies) it was delectable. No lie.

I started with this recette…

soup a l'oignon-7

Here’s how I took it and ran with it.

  • 4 large onions
  • 3 T coconut oil
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 c red wine (or go with white, for those with the worm aversion)
  • 1 liter water
  • salt & pepper to taste (like at least 1 t salt; since you’re not using broth, you need some saltiness)
  • several slices of good, crusty bread. I used this Oatnut bread which I’d made earlier in the week…

oat bread

To continue, thinly slice the onions.

soup a l'oignon

In a large pot, add onions and oils. Feel free to caramelize the onions a bit here if you want. That makes this less outrageously easy and more time-consuming. I left that part out.

soup a l'oignon-3

Toss in the flour. Be careful not to get any chipping fingernail polish in there.

soup a l'oignon-2

Then add the liquids.

soup a l'oignon-4

Simmer for about 20 minutes. Then preheat oven to 375 and slice and doll-up your bread.

soup a l'oignon-5

I used a little olive oil atop these slices. And then sprinkled on some salt.

soup a l'oignon-6

Put your cooked soup in bowls. Top the bowl of soup with a slice of dolled-up bread. Then toast your bread and soup in the oven until the bread is golden. Or if you feel like adding some fine Comté, Gruyère or other nice shredded cheese, go for it. In that case, toast until cheese is melted and begins to brown.

soup a l'oignon 12

That’s it.

Santé !

{You know that means “To your healthy!” right?} Just checkin’

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

