Bite size crispy sunflower cookies

Bite-sized crispy little morsels of sunflower goodness.

sunflower seed cookies

Goodness, yes. I love these. They look sort of no-bake. They’re not, but could be, and I assure you they taste equally good baked and unbaked. You be the judge.

For this recipe you will need a food processor and a melon baller or cookie scoop with the disher that you squeeze to plop stuff out (see pic below if you don’t know what I mean). Okay, let’s get started.

Crispy Sunflower Cookies

  • 2 c raw sunflower seeds (soaked and dehydrated – or if you don’t care about that step any 2 cups of sunflower seeds will do)
  • 1 1/2 c old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c sugar (I’ve also made this with maple syrup and just used 1/3 cup syrup, FYI)
  • 1/3 c cocoa powder
  • 1/3 c + 1 T coconut oil, melted (sorry, 1/2 c seemed too much but 1/3 too little, so you just need that little extra bit)
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1/2 t salt

In food processor, chop sunflower seeds for a few seconds, then add oats and continue to process until well chopped. Add the remaining ingredients and process until the mixture holds together loosely. Actually, it doesn’t really hold together at all. So if you’re thinking, this doesn’t hold together at all…then you’re on the right track. Oh, yes, heat oven to 350 and get a baking sheet ready. I love my stone baking sheet which is pretty well seasoned as you can see. Yikes.

sunflower seed cookies-2

If your sheet is not well seasoned, then use a bit of oil to keep the cookies from sticking. Moving on…take your melon baller scoop thingy and put about a heaping teaspoon of the cookie “dough” in it. I say “dough” but it’s not really “dough” it’s more like sand, but I can’t use the word sand and cookie in the same sentence. I once ate some miniscule shards of glass because I tried to recover expensive Udo oil from a jar I broke. That was a mistake. It was like eating sand. Not something I will do again, eat sand or glass for that matter if I can help it. Again, moving on… Press the cookie dough into the baller with your thumb and then plop it out onto the sheet.

sunflower seed cookies-3

These will not rise much so arrange them tightly if you like. Bake for about 10 minutes. Allow to cool a bit. Store in airtight container.

w 1-3

Enjoy. Now time to get ready for someone’s big # 1. Let’s Par-Tay!

w 1-2

Ok, I’m having a hard time believing that he’ll be one in two days.

This all feels like it just happened a few minutes ago.

new baby sleeping baby-1 baby sepia

one month eve-1

Oh my goodness.

2 thoughts on “Bite size crispy sunflower cookies

    • Sounds like it would. I have not had ground acorn flour, but it seems like it would be a similar texture. The sunflower seeds are still a little coarse, so that might be a difference, but I think it could work. Great flavor however you do it. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

