Chocolate Covered Coffee Bean Brownies

Double Chocolate and Espresso Cookies? Nah, Giada De Laurentiis, you’ve got nothin’.

GH0313H_double-chocolate-and-espresso-cookies

{photo source}

So a neighbor made Giadia’s recipe. He shared his confection and then threw down the challenge to doctor the recipe and see if I could come up with a “healthy” version.

I couldn’t.

At least, what I came up with didn’t look like a cookie. But I really like the brownie version inspired by the above. And, I dare say, they’re a smidge healthier.

I didn’t have chocolate covered coffee beans, so, as per usual, I improvised.

coffee bean brownies

I used regular coffee beans ground finely in the coffee grinder.

Now if you like chocolate covered coffee beans, then this is for you. If not, then you should really try them. They are amazing. A little goes a long ways. And if you get the jitters, as I do from too much coffee, then you might consider using half-caf or decaf coffee beans.

Aside from the coffee bean substitution. I used kidney beans.

coffee bean brownies-2

These aren’t just coffee bean brownies. They’re bean brownies. You’ll use a whole 15 oz can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed. I like to use a colander to get them nice and squeaky clean. Nothing like a dirty bean.

So instead of dead all purpose flour, you’re getting beans and also chia; plus the sugar is reduced by using some stevia. I used two eggs because my flexitarian self really loves eggs. Seriously, I do…

I could eat quiche every day.

post run

Not just after 14 miles including 4 x 2 miles with 2 min break between each at an avg. 6:08per mile for those 8 hard miles. Yep, that was a hard run. I had two pieces of quiche.

Back to brownies… Substitute egg replacer or flax eggs if you’d like. I’m sure it would be just fine.

Lastly, I used butter, but coconut oil would also be divine.

Here you go…

coffee bean brownies-4

Chocolate Covered Coffee Bean Brownies:

  • 1 15 oz can kidney beans, drained and rinsed well
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 brown sugar
  • 1/4 c cocoa powder
  • 1/4c stevia
  • 5 T butter or coconut oil, melted
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 1 T milk (used rice milk, but whatever)
  • 1/3 c decaf, half-calf or regular coffee, espresso ground (very finely ground)
  • 1/3 c ground chia seed
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 300 deg. Grease a square 8 in pan.

In food processor, process beans, add eggs, sugar, stevia, butter, vanilla, and milk. Process until smooth. Then add the rest of the dry ingredients. Pulse until blended. Fold in chocolate chips. Spread into pan and bake for about 30min.

coffee bean brownies-3

Let me know what you think?

One thought on “Chocolate Covered Coffee Bean Brownies

  1. The post is written in very a good manner and it entails many useful information for me. I appreciated what you have done here. I am always searching for informative information like this. Thanks for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

