Marathon Dreambakes

Since it’s race week, I’ve been rethinking my marathon fuel.

A few days before a big race is not the time to tweak your nutrition, but what I’ve done is slightly alter and improve my Marathon Dreamcake recipe.

may-2012-dreamcakes

Those babies have gotten me through several big runs.

I modeled the recipe after one that I read about in the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall. Hey, if it works for the Tarahumara, it works for me.

This is the batch that I will take with me to Indianapolis.  #carmel2014 Yikes!!

marathon dream bakes

And this time I left out a couple of unimportant ingredients and steps, and then I baked them instead of fry.

So we’ll coin this batch Marathon Dreambakes. If you’re not familiar with the original recipe, the ‘dream’ part is because I will pop a few of these in the wee hours of the morning before my race. (Yes, I will actually set an alarm for this “feeding” but usually I’m tossing and turning enough the alarm is just a formality.) This way I can ‘top off’ my fuel and still allow breakfast to have had a chance to digest before the start. Side-aches are something I’ve struggled with in the past. But with these nuggets, side-aches are a thing of the past.

This recipe is very forgiving, so I really didn’t measure. Not at all. But below I have given you a pretty close estimation.

Start by preheating oven to 325 (I used convection oven at 325, regular oven just give more time but keep at 325 to protect the health oils).

In a large bowl stir together:

  • 2 c cooked jasmine rice
  • 1 c old fashioned oats
  • 1/3 c whole chia seeds (unlike flax they are digested fine eaten whole)
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 3 T applesauce
  • 3 T maple syrup
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 1 t salt
  • 2 T rice milk
  • 3 T coconut oil, melted

Using a cookie scoop or melon-baller, arrange dough on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake for about 12-15 minutes. Allow to cool completely and store in airtight container. Give them a test run before your next long run.

And Run Fast.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Marathon Dreambakes

  1. Pingback: Carmel Marathon Race Recap | Flexitarian Filly

  2. Pingback: Grandma’s Marathon Race Recap | Flexitarian Filly

Leave a Reply

