Unremarkable 10k race and a crazy new half-marathon goal

After a weather delay, the Hy-Vee road races were off and running Sunday morning.

drake 10k-3

There was the half-marathon, the 10k, and the 5k. Just two weeks after a marathon, I figured a 10k would be just right. It was.

drake 10k-2

But it was only just fine.

drake 10k

I practically ran exactly the same time as my last 10k; however a personal best is a personal best, so I’ll gladly take the 10 second PR. But all in all, it was a pretty unremarkable race for me. And I’m kind of excited about that, here’s why…

Last fall, I ran a 10k pretty hard. It felt hard and like I was really giving it all I had.

week 9-1

Then a month later, I ran a half-marathon where my goal time and pace were the same as that 10k. I totally knew I was crazy to think that I could run over twice the distance (13.1 mi vs. 6.2 mi) a the same speed. But in the end, I did.

Des Moines Half-137

So.

Yesterday I felt sluggish – I guess that is to be expected after three relatively big races in two weeks – but recovering from this run, I feel like I did nothing. I know, I probably should have pushed it harder. What’s done is done. Anyway, I’m running another half-marathon in four weeks, so my goal is to treat that half the same as my last half-marathon last fall and attack it at the same pace as this 10k. It will be fast (for me) as it should be, and I have some work to do in the next few weeks to get ready, but I’m excited. It will mean going from about a 6:24 pace (previous half-marathon) to a 6:10. Crazy. I know! But I won’t be limited by my previous performances. I am willing to lay it out there and tell myself not to fear going faster than I ever have before. Fear can screw up lots of things. So let’s get after it…

And how about you… any new, fearless goals for you this year?

One thought on “Unremarkable 10k race and a crazy new half-marathon goal

  1. Pingback: Half marathon PR | Flexitarian Filly

Leave a Reply

