Ultimate Coffee Date Link-up

Hello weekend!

I’m linking up with several other bloggers led by Coco, Lynda and Deborah to share some thoughts over a virtual coffee.

20130702-210011.jpg

So if we were having coffee, first of all I’d probably order a cappuccino.

If I was feeling crazy and in need of some major calories, I’d have a cafe viennois. Oh my gaaaash…

Cafe Viennois Reims, France

If we were having coffee this morning, I’d have to tell you about my workout, a 15 mile run that I finished on the track with 10x200m sprints. The 200s averaged 35sec.

track 1 -2

I had to have some bulletproof coffee before that one.

Over coffee, I’d love to hear about your holidays of course. Me, well, I’d have to say that ours was not the best. My husband had his clavicle repaired the day before Christmas Eve. Let’s just say, it was pretty gnarly and the surgeon said surgery was 100% necessary.

Before (day of bike accident):

clavicle

Yep. Should be one piece instead of three.

And after:

clavicle-2

Yikes! 10 screws. Gives me the willies.

Finally, if we were havingย coffee, I would love to hear about your plans for 2015. Any hopes you have for the new year? I have lots of ideas and aspirations, but for real, I am simply looking forward to the journey. 2014 was unbelievably good to me, and I met goals I imagined completely impossible. 2015 feels likeย icing on the cake.

Trust me, I’ll be working hard, but it’s all good. I’m just thankful to be where I am. Living in the moment.

Soย thanks, gals, for hosting!

Ultimate-Coffee-Date-Badge-e1416682466503-300x300

How about you, do you love coffee?

un cafe

Mmmmmmm.

14 thoughts on “Ultimate Coffee Date Link-up

  1. I made up a similar workout 2 weeks ago with the long portion MP+25s and 8x200m @ 5K pace. Not quite sure of what I was doing however. Maybe you can give me insight on the workout. Hope your husband is doing ok.

    • Your workout sounds awesome. Harder than mine actually. My mileage outside of the 200s wasn’t particularly hard, about 70-75% of marathon pace (7:40ish). But I like your idea of MP+25. Anyway, my thought was just to inject a little more speed to the end of the long run. I know I need more speed, more plyometrics, more jump training, etc. to work on my overall speed. Ultimately this should increase my marathon pace. Incorporating speed, more than just some “strides” at the end of my long runs, will be huge I think especially during this season or point in my periodization of training. January is a building month. I don’t have a ton of long interval runs but almost every other day I have added in lots of sprinting. I want more stride efficiency, more power, more speed. I’ll also race a 5k or 8k or two and some 10ks later too. Racing those short races are great for challenging speed, right? At least that’s my thinking. Hope that makes sense? I hope your year is off to a good start. And yes, he’s better by the minute. It will be a long recovery, but it’s not the end of the world… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Wow, you are super badass ending a long run like that! Yikes on your husband’s surgery – I hope he is on the mend now. Thanks for joining the coffee date link up! Hope to see you again in February.

    • Thanks Coco! The link up is fun. I’ll join again. And the run was sort of experimental, I don’t normally do that. But it was good. I am looking forward to building off it and doing it again. So thanks, thanks!

  3. Wow ! Great workout !

    I prefer a cappuccino if we are out chatting somewhere, or black coffee if at home. Espresso after lunch, big cup in the morning. Never been interested in trying bulletproof coffee. Do you like it ?

    2014 was a good year personally but tough professionally, so I am looking forward to kicking off 2015.

    • I’m totally with you on your coffee routine. I especially love an early afternoon coffee. As for bulletproof, it’s nice before a race or hard long run. And I actually do like the taste. It does take a little getting used to, but it’s good!

      Enjoy starting 2015 off on the right foot!

  4. Thanks for linking up with us today! I love the coffee date and it’s a great way to meet new friends. Hope your husband is recovering ok that looks painful. It sounds like you had a fab 2014 so 2015 should rock! I also love when they make the little swirls with the coffee looks so pretty. Thanks for joining

  5. I tolerate “COFFEE” as my husband loves it and I drink one cup a day with him. Other than that I am a Sweet Iced Tea lady. I am so sorry about your hubby and hope he is doing OK. Have a great week and I am so glad I found your blog from the Coffee challenge I look forward to visiting again soon.

  6. Susie, so nice to meet you through our coffee date. Thank you so much for joining, I am a new follower. Okay great run, I am envious. My running starts again this week once kids are back in school. OH and the “bullet proof” coffee?! What?? Read and need to know, how is this different, what does the oil do? I will be trying for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hey! Thanks! And the idea with the coffee is to add unsalted raw grass-fed butter and mct oil which comes from coconut oil. You froth it up in a blender and enjoy. It is supposed to prime the body to burn fat and give long lasting energy throughout the day. I make my own version sometimes with, sometimes without butter before hard runs or races. I do like it! Maybe give it a try!? And good luck with your running this week!

Leave a Reply

