Peanut butter jello

JELL-O hasn’t come up with peanut butter jello yet, have they? No clue. Well, it doesn’t matter because this is even better than plain ol’ peanut butter jello. It’s so gelatinous, I will really call it peanut butter jigglers. I guess, if you’re not a fan of either peanut butter or jello, then read no further. Maybe just skim to the pictures of the cute boy. But if you are a fan of peanut butter, can enjoy some jello, and are up for an easy, quirky gluten-free desert, then give this a try.

Basic ingredients: 

  • powdered peanut butter because I felt like giving it a try (or regular peanut butter)
  • A lot of honey
  • Coconut milk
  • Unflavored gelatin
  • Also: water, vanilla and a pinch of salt

I try to take gelatin regularly as a supplement. It makes me gag. Turning it into jello helps. FYI, I purchase unflavored gelatin in a large bag, and it’s cheaper than the little packets of Knox unflavored gelatin from the store. Good for your guts, joints, connective tissue. All that good stuff.

Here’s how I make peanut butter jello:

I make this recipe in my blender. So I start by whisking 1/4 c. of gelatin into 1/2 c. of coconut milk. Run the blender for a second to whisk and combine the two. Let sit. In a small saucepan, heat another 1/2 c. coconut milk and about 3/4 c. honey over medium heat. If you use powdered peanut butter stir in about 1/3 c plus a 1/4 c. of water. If you do not have powdered peanut butter, then spoon in about 1/3 c. of your favorite peanut butter. Heat until almost bubbling. Then stir the hot mixture into the gelatin mixture which will now be hardened. Add a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla. Stir well. Pour into a well-oiled pan, preferably something smaller than 9×13 or else you will have paper-thin jigglers (pictures below).

Allow to chill in the fridge for 3-4 hours or more. Cut into desires shapes and enjoy.

 More on gelatin. It’s good:

  • for hair and nail growth
  • for skin – can help tighten loose skin
  • to keep joints strong and can help joint recovery
  • digestive aid – it binds to water and helps food move though the digestive track
  • as a source of dietary collagen and protein; it’s mostly made of amino acids, glycine and proline, which we don’t otherwise get a lot of in our diets. They help with all of the above as well as optimizing immune function and regulating weight.

Food for thought.

Did you miss my last Pop Tart Post? Check her out if so. There was a snafu with my posting, and so it may not have reached you in quite the correct form.

Speaking of form, I’m pleased to report that I’m beginning to feel my oats. The Olympic Trials Marathon is just around the corner so it’s about time. Since starting to seriously train, basically November, I’ve finally built up to 70 miles per week and have done five 18-20-mile long runs and some nice and fast marathon-specific speedwork. At this point, I’m pleased. I feel relatively good and excited to run alongside the fastest marathoners in the country. Plus, to evade the slippery roads, I’ve put in plenty of miles on the Grinnell College indoor track, and since the Trials course is a criterium (several 6-mile loops), I should be ready for all the turns. Ha.

Now go give peanut butter jello a try…

Have you ever tried making jello from scratch?

Do you take supplements for joint health? 

Leave a Reply

